Teams / Trek - Segafredo

TFS Trek - Segafredo

Team Country: United States Sports Manager: DEMOL Dirk Category: UCI World Teams

Trek–Segafredo is a professional road bicycle racing team licensed in the United States. Formerly Radioshack-Nissan, in 2014, Trek took over the ownership of the team and its ProTeam License. The team was founded in 2011 under the name of Leopard Trek and officially stylized as LEOPARD TREK with Brian Nygaard and Kim Andersen as team managers. The Schleck brothers were under contract with the Danish team Saxo Bank managed by Bjarne Riis through the end of the 2010 season. Several other Team Saxo Bank riders followed the Schleck brothers to the new team, including veterans Jens Voigt, Fabian Cancellara and Stuart O'Grady. Subsequent signings included sprinter Daniele Bennati, Davide Vigano and Joost Posthuma. The team became active at the start of the 2011 cycling season. On 13th December 2010, Jakob Fuglsang revealed that the team would be called Team Leopard, in reference to the management company run by Nygaard. Trek, the bike supplier, confirmed shortly before the team was officially presented that they would be a co-title sponsor, giving the team a full name of "Leopard Trek". Team rider Wouter Weylandt died as a result of a high-speed, downhill crash during the 2011 Giro d'Italia. The remaining riders of Leopard Trek left the competition at the completion of the following day's stage. On 16 December 2015, the team announced that Italian coffee brand Segafredo had committed to a three-year co-title sponsorship effective January 1st 2016, with the team changing name to Trek-Segafredo.

Official Website